DIY Faceplates ( and chassis )

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Aurora

DIY Faceplates ( and chassis )

Post by Aurora »

I happen to live in the outskirts of this world, and freight charges for bits and pieces have gone through the roof during the last years. International parcel post is no more, and several of the larger shipping companies charges 1000$ +/hr. to write up the import papers -- a 100$ fee to write up the papers for no customs to pay ( only VAT) is quite common. ( Who said the world is getting smaller ..???)

I am also an electronics professional - I have access to all sorts of equipment for PCBs, (including SMD eqpt), all sorts of instruments, mech. workshop etc.etc, so I'm very well off in all respects but one - Faceplates!

Plastic laminating paper prints ( ala Kinko's) looks so-so, plastic engraving plates ditto, - Dymo labels even worse, - and transfer lettering has no wear resistance.....

Any other ideas or examples ? Anyone tried photo etching alu plates "ala PCBs" ?
Structo

Re: DIY Faceplates ( and chassis )

Post by Structo »

How about waterslide decals.
If you put a clear coat or six over them they are pretty durable.
If you use a laser printer they are water proof.

That's how we do it on guitars.

I've seen a few amps and depending on the background color can look every bit as good as silk screened plates.
Tom

Don't let that smoke out!
Bear

Post by Bear »

If you have local engraving shops like we have all over the place for stupid plaques kids get for participating in youth sports, they can engrave metal panels, obviously. Maybe fill the engraved lettering with India ink if you need contrast.

You can get a wood-burning kit for a soldering iron and learn to do TW-ish panels.

You can find a silk-screen shop and put some clear coats (matte or gloss) over the panel.