imbalance in output tube current - fender deluxe reverb

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

amplifryer

imbalance in output tube current - fender deluxe reverb

Post by amplifryer »

Hello, First post from a noob here. Please be gentle. I am getting back into working on tube amps after several years of not. Amplifier in question is my '65 Fender Deluxe Reverb AB763. I noticed that at least one of the power tubes was red-plating. Current assumption is it was biased too hot, I cut it back to -50V and began investigating on the bench. Currently it's biased about -40V putting tube cathode currents at ~30mA.

My concern is the imbalance in the output section. One of the output tubes is doing all the work. Its current increases proportionally with increases in amp signal going up 20-30mA while the other 6V6 increases only a few mA beyond bias current. I understand that some imbalance here is fairly common but this seems excessive to me.

All of the components in the output section are within spec., however the quiescent plate voltages on the PI vary significantly depending on which tube is installed. With a sine wave input, the V6B signal at the plate is over twice the amplitude of V6A. For the values shown on the diagram, I used a JJ ECC83S in the PI position as it had the best plate voltage balance. I'll replace it with a new 12AT7, but the ones I have are pretty lopsided.

When driven hard, the output waveform clips on one polarity well before the opposite. Does this seem normal? I don't have another amp to compare. I know I can balance the signals by experimenting with LTPI resistor values, but I don't want to modify something that needs to be fixed first.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
For every observable phenomenon, there is a rational scientific explanation.
wpaulvogel

Re: imbalance in output tube current - fender deluxe reverb

Post by wpaulvogel »