Vox AC4 clone power supply - choke advice please

Vox and Hiwatt Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Yazoo

Vox AC4 clone power supply - choke advice please

Post by Yazoo »

I have just built a clone of the Vox AC4. To save money, I used back to back power transformers. I used a full-wave diode bridge rather than a tube rectifier. I am getting good voltages for the heater supply to an EF86, 12AX7 and EL84.

The problem I have hit is that the plate voltages are too low. On the schematic, the voltage is given as 270V and I am getting 260V at the first 33uf power capacitor and only 221V at the second 33uf capacitor. The 1K power resistor between the 2 caps is dropping 39V. To get the voltage up, I want to replace the 1K resistor with a filter choke. I have modelled this in the Duncan Amps power supply designer and I should get around 256V. I am new to this so I would appreciate some advice. Looking at the Hammond filter choke guide, I see the following which might be OK:

156M 3H, 100ma max current 86 ohms resistance, 400V max voltage

158Q 5H, 150 ma max current, 105 ohms resistance, 400v max voltage

What would you recommend please?
didit

Re: Vox AC4 clone power supply - choke advice please

Post by didit »

Hello -

Why not 156L with 5H, 75 ma.& 135 ohms? An EL84 single-ended pulls sensibly 50mA max.

Best .. Ian
sluckey

Post by sluckey »

Your amp is only drawing 39mA as is, so chokes with a 50mA to 100mA would be OK. With that in mind I would get the most Henrys with the least DCR. More Henrys means less hum, lower DCR means more B+. The 194B (4H, 90mA, 108Ω) would be another good candidate.
didit

Post by didit »

Hello -

Checking our homework off this schematic--https://www.thetubestore.com/lib/thetub ... ematic.pdf--and seeing nominal design bogie >= 55mA. Conservative rule of thumb for chokes applied of 150% above typical current.

Best .. Ian
Last edited by didit on Mon Feb 15, 2021 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yazoo

Post by Yazoo »